Facebook Aims for a Fuzzy

To avoid “fuzzy somebodies” one has to turn the “somebodies” into a someone – a specific person – and target that specific someone, not an entire age bracket of females between the ages of 18-25. Ad agencies have to eliminate the wide range of demographics and be person specific, in order to appeal to each individual’s different wants, desires and needs.

What better way to prove the effect of avoiding “fuzzy somebodies” than Facebook advertisements? Yes, the annoying little 2×2 ads displayed on the right side of your homepage. I will use myself as the example, so bare with me.

I was on my Facebook earlier today and ironically an ad for the movie Remember Me showed up on my homepage.  Why is this ironic? Let me explain.

Over the past week, I have been commenting back and forth with my friend about seeing a movie this weekend. We both expressed that we did not care what movie we saw or when we would see it. This entire conversation was conducted via Facebook between our homepages. So, ironically, a movie advertisement, which is coming out soon, shows up on my homepage.

The selection of Remember Me as the movie to target toward me is also ironic because I am a huge Twilight fan. Robert Pattinson is an actor in both movies. Facebook can detect that I am a Twilight fan because I have Twilight listed as one of my favorite book series, as well as one of my favorite movies.

Remember Me is also a lovey-dovey stereotypical chick flick. So, to aim this at a female, who is showing desire to see a new movie, and is a fan of actor, Robert Pattinson, is a smart advertising scheme.

So, these nano-targeted advertisements are targeted at specific individuals and Facebook has begun the switch from targeting “fuzzy somebodies” to now targeting a specific fuzzy.

Creepy? Yes. Facebook watches and documents every move and word I say. But, on the positive side, there are no more fuzzies on Facebook now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

