The 2010 Outback is changed

My wife and I were recently car shopping for a new car for her. I wanted something safe and reliable. My wife wanted something sporty. We needed the car to be kid (and carseat) friendly. We were considering a number of different vehicles and ended up buying a Subaru Outback.

I didn’t see this ad prior to our purchase. It’s a pretty straight-forward strategy – raise awareness of the changes to the Subaru Outback. It’s extremely literal in selling the product features. I have to imagine that the execution reads similar to the creative brief.

Despite being informative, I don’t feel this ad is extremely persuasive. First, you would it’s comparing the new model versus the old model. The only people this information would be relevant to are owners of 2009 (or older) Outbacks. I don’t need to know that it’s better than the old model, if I have no concept if earlier models. Second, some of the features mean nothing to me. Is 8.7 inches of ground clearance good? I’d rather know about the features relevant to my situation – I won’t be doing any off-roading  or plowing through snow banks. I want to know about safety ratings and any third-party endorsements the Outback has received. We went to test-drive it because Consumer Reports rating it highly. At the dealership, we learned it was Motor Trend’s 2010 Sport/Utility of the Year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

